User login

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso location

Offically - Burkina Faso
Till August 1984 - Republic of Upper Volta
Official language – French
Capital – Ougadougou
National holiday – Republic Day, 11 December (since 1958)
Independent from France since 5th of August 1960
Government type – parliamentary republic

Border countries: Mali (in the north), Niger (in the east), Benin (in the southeast), Togo and Ghana (in the south), Côte d'Ivoire (in the southwest)

Area – 274,200 sq km
Natural resources: manganese, limestone, marble, phosphates, pumice, salt, small deposits of gold, silver, zinc, lead; ores of copper, nickel, titanБуркина_Фасо,

Population – 20,9 mln (2020, UNCTAD)
Ethnic groups: Mossi over 40%, other approximately 60% (includes Gurunsi, Senufo, Lobi, Bobo, Mande, and Fulani)
Burkina Faso's people belong to two major West African cultural groups—the Voltaic and the Mande (whose common language is Dioula). The Voltaic Mossi make up about one-half of the population. The Mossi claim descent from warriors who migrated to present-day Burkina Faso from Ghana and established an empire that lasted more than 800 years. Predominantly farmers, the Mossi kingdom is still led by the Mogho Naba, whose court is in Ouagadougou.
Burkina Faso is an ethnically integrated, secular state. Most of Burkina's people are concentrated in the south and center of the country. Hundreds of thousands of Burkinabe migrate to Côte d'Ivoire and Ghana, many for seasonal agricultural work. These flows of workers are obviously affected by external events; the September 2002 coup attempt in Côte d'Ivoire and the ensuing fighting there have meant that hundreds of thousands of Burkinabe returned to Burkina Faso.
About 12,000 Europeans reside in Burkina Faso, the majority are French.

Muslim 50%, indigenous beliefs 40%, Christian (mainly Roman Catholic) 10% Christians, predominantly Roman, are largely concentrated among the urban elite

Calling code: 226